Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
About Us
Share |

The Osteopathic Physicians & Surgeons of Oregon, Inc. (OPSO) began in 1906 as the Oregon Osteopathic Association. For over 100 years, the association has served as the voice of the osteopathic profession, providing advocacy, leadership, and educational opportunities for osteopathic physicians in Oregon.

OPSO is a membership organization whose purpose is to promote the causes, needs, goals, and advancement of osteopathic medicine in Oregon for the benefit of the members and community in which they serve. OPSO is an affiliate organization of the American Osteopathic Association and is governed by an 11-member Board of Directors. In addition to the Board of Directors, OPSO programs and policies are guided by a structure of committees. Standing committees include the Committee on Public Policy, Continuing Medical Education Committee, Membership Committee, and Clinical and Professional Education Committee.

If you are interested in learning more about OPSO, would like to become a member, or are interested in serving on an OPSO committee or board, please contact us at or call 503.299.6776.

If you are interesting in finding an osteopathic physician in your area, visit our find a provider page


List of current and previous OPSO presidents


Significant Dates in Oregon Osteopathic History


1899: F.E. Moore is the first DO to practice in Oregon


1906 - The Oregon Osteopathic Association is founded 


1906-1907: Oregon law enacted limiting DOs to manipulation, minor surgery and obstetrics, while F.E. Moore, D.O. from LaGrande becomes the first D.O. appointed to the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners (Now Oregon Medical Board)



1926: Osteopathic Physicians are granted full practice privileges including medicine, surgery, and prescriptive privileges


1940s: Osteopathic hospitals are established in Portland, Medford, Eugene, Canyonville, Dallas, and Forest Grove. Eastmoreland Hospital in Portland begins training program for General Practitioners


1948: New law requires a D.O. to serve on the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners


1950s: Legislature mandates insurance coverage for all D.O. services and prohibits discrimination in hospital staff privileges


1957: A second D.O. is added to the Board of Medical Examiners as an alternate member


1979: Osteopathic hospitals are granted special exemptions in the Certificate of Need planning process


1983: Legislature guarantees payment of Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment in Worker’s Compensation


1987: Eastmoreland Hospital begins a Family Practice residency program


1995: Legislature guarantees acceptance of osteopathic training in credentialing by hospitals, insurance companies, IPA’s and other health care entities


2001: Al Bates, D.O. becomes the first D.O. elected to the Oregon Legislature


2004: Eastmoreland Hospital closes, closing the only osteopathic residency program in the state


2009: Samaritan Health Services begins an osteopathic residency program in Family Practice, Internal Medicine, and Psychiatry

Association Management Software  ::  Legal